Learning about Description

Flew through this week’s lesson in HTRYN and can’t wait for the next to arrive.

I had words with my muse about being patient and reading some more on the assigned book for the course but my muse started throwing ideas at me for a whodoneit in a castle setting, then a howdoneit, then just a murder mystery. I calmly said no.

I decided to try to read some more of the story, but really, really don’t like it. I fell asleep. The next day I woke refreshed and tried to read some more and fell asleep.

Then I had a bright idea. Just pick out one character and only read chapters he was in. It was then I discovered the chapters were titled with the POV character, so it was easy to flip through the pages and find the right character to continue reading.

I bribed my muse to be quiet and learn about description of characters and landscape while she waited and I would make some more watermelon iceblocks and a tray of chocolate. I love watermelon iceblocks. 🙂

She waited patiently and I read the first located chapter of the character I liked more than the others.

I struggled on until I finished the book. Of course, I missed all the war and whatever of the other characters but who cares. If a mother can leave young children behind while riding off to her husband instead of sending a message via bird then I certainly didn’t care if she died or not.

I reread the stage and character spreadsheet I filled out on the prologue and thought I could try for more description on my characters but decided to wait for the lesson before I start writing in case I get it wrong.

Instead, I started planning my next novel, and my muse gave me 32 scene sentences. Looking back over them I could probably split each into two or even three scenes, but won’t for now because I haven’t done my LUC yet and those answers will lead the characters into other directions which will give me even more scenes.

Next, I want to reword each scene sentence into a sentence lite to confirm conflict and antagonists and enter them into notecards so they can be moved around until I get the correct order.

And, hopefully, I will get to plan the planet and climate, etc this weekend, working through the questions in the 30 Day World Building Course. After that, I can practice writing description of the new planet.

I also studied the moon and sun effects on large bodies of water and was mildly surprised that my current revision story handled the effects of two moons quite well considering I wasn’t consciously aware of higher waves and high tide marks when the two moons were overhead. I was amazed I planned one seaside village with all houses on stilts because the mudflats filled quickly on high tides and left smelly muddy flats on low tide and the stilted houses placed at the edge of the low tide mark saved the humans from wading through the mudflats to get to their boats. I still have to check the descriptions during revision to make sure they are consistent.

2 comments so far

  1. thepencilneck on

    Yeah, I don’t know if you saw my thread on the book, but Catelyn leaving her 3 year old, her injured child, and putting her eldest into a position of authority he was not ready for, really threw me out of the story. And this is my kind of story. I just couldn’t find that a believable character move unless I put her into the “Evil/Must Die” category.

    The other thing that killed me was the father killing the direwolf. I don’t mind people being senselessly cruel to each other but it really gets under my skin when a defenseless animal is treated like that. Now, I figure that GRRM is just setting the stage for all these “nice” characters to have reasons for hating/betraying each other but… still. He’s making me move “likeable” characters into the “nonlikeable” category. And I don’t like books about characters I don’t like.

    • djmills on

      I agree. I think my thoughts in the previous blog entry sums up what I thought of the plot and writing style.


Leave a Reply

