The Book Video Workshop

I finished the Book Video Workshop by Jeannie Ruesch and have come to the conclusion that I do not understand music.

I understood working out the blurb. Good information for future novels.

I understand selecting the words for the Book Video from the blurb that make the reader want to click on the link to purchase the book by using questions and not giving the answers to the character conflicts.

I understand searching the internet for photos with no costs (copyright rules). Otherwise, I could take my own photos and manipulate the photos in Photoshop or Coral Painter to get the effects required for each sentence in the Book Video.

But the music has me stumped. I do not change mood when listening to music, so how can I select mood music to suit the photos?

Music is background noise while I undertake other tasks, such as cleaning the house, or gardening, or writing, or painting, or … whatever I chose to do with my time. I notice if the noise is heavy metal or other off beat noise then I turn the music off. Otherwise I listen to music with a 4/4 beat and am content with the background noise.

I thought about writing my own music, as I have a lovely program that records the keys pressed as I play the keyboard, into sheet music. Or, I can open a selected sheet of music in the program and the computer will automatically play the song on the keyboard. That program by itself is a time waster but so enjoyable.

I have come to the conclusion that I will pay someone, anyone, to create a book video if I ever require it. I do not need to take the time necessary to struggle to create the book video myself.

My time is better used to write the stories, revise them to a high standard and mail off the queries.

6 comments so far

  1. LisaM on

    The lyrics of the music can often be a good indicator of mood, as does the key – minor is often sad, for instance.

    I enjoy browing the NaNo Soundtracks forum for ideas on music, although I suspect the posters are WAAAAY younger than I am. Still, it’s a great way to keep uptodate with music.

    Any chance you might email me the music software you mention? I’d love to get back into writing my own music again. Haven’t touched a piano since Uni…

    • djmills on

      No lyrics are used in the music for the book trailer. 🙂 But, if minor keys are sad, that is something I can look out for. Also sent the email with information.

  2. The Pencil Neck on

    I wrote out a big long explanation with a ton of music theory but I deleted all of it (because it was boring and only music theory nerds like me would get into it) and I’ll leave you with… I’d be wary of assuming that something written in a minor key is going to end up sad.

    Lots of songs in major keys are sad and lots of songs in minor keys are happy. Or at least, not sad.

    But. What is this “book video”? You’re trying to make a series of images set to background musci that give the basic story of the book?

    • djmills on

      Yes, Pencilneck, I agree. I love songs in minor keys and do not feel sad when I hear them.
      Book videos are just like a movie trailer but for a book. It is a marketing tool that allows the viewer to click through a link at the end of the trailer to purchase the book. I learnt the theory but will leave the actual marketing of any book I publish to the marketing experts. 🙂

  3. ekcarmel on

    I remember watching a book video a while ago and thought it was cool and quirky, but for the life of me I can’t remember which book or author. I know it wasn’t one I had read at that point. That was the first time I heard of these book videos. To tell you the truth, I’d forgotten about it until you wrote this.

    I haven’t seen the Jeannie Ruesch link, but it sounds to me like something self-publishers might put together as part of their media platform. Not a bad idea if you are already playing around with creating videos (my daughter does this using her own drawings and music from cd on Windows Movie Maker), but otherwise it sounds like a huge time-sink, as you pointed out.

    Honestly, I hope this doesn’t catch on, because it would be one more thing writers have to do that takes us away from our writing.

    Eileen

    • djmills on

      Yes, I agree. Marketing is a time sink. Which is why we love agents and publishers who can spend the time and money getting it right, while we (authors) can spend the time getting the story right. 🙂


Leave a Reply

