Light at the end of the tunnel

I ran out of time on Friday, but am happy I only have ten scenes to complete the cut and add part of HTRYN.

I am baffled as to why I change some sentences around to make them smoother, but when I read out loud in the final check, I change back to how the sentences were first written.

I guess when I read out loud, my muse gets annoyed at my changes.

Still, I should have the additions completed by Tuesday, leaving the rest of the week to check beginnings, endings, pace and step-by-step.

I have also been thinking how to get all these extra details into a program that can monitor everything while I write the first draft.

I have come up with spreadsheets for everything, from scene sentences and all the details now recorded on cards, to keeping a running count of words, especially now I am adding more paragraphs in each scene. I even found two scenes I could scrap if I go over the 90K count by too much. Instead, I could have one or two comments by the male MC covering the action of a month, but at this stage, I will leave it.

Hopefully, after the next two lessons where Holly teaches us how to keep everything from the course in mind while writing, it will help me organise the process for one pass only.

I hope each of you are as successful in changing your first drafts to a better read as I seem to have done. Or are you having problems?

2 comments so far

  1. LisaM on

    Hey, congrats on nearing the end of your revision journey!

    Me, I’m stuck somewhere in the middle of the tunnel and so far away from both ends that there’s actually no light in sight….

    But I’ve gotten into ATCs in the meantime and a bit of art journalling and I discovered some activities that I can do with both of these interests that could help to re-spark the motivation to return to my writing, so I’ll probably give that a go.

    I’ll let you know how that goes! 🙂

    • djmills on

      Hang in there. Sometimes a little distance helps see solutions because you are looking from a different angle. 🙂
      Don’t forget to show me copies of the art work when completed.


Leave a Reply

