Mentoring

Whether you intend to publish traditionally or via ebooks you need to be aware of of the changes happening now.

One way is to pay a mentor for a certain number of hours of his time to teach you the industry.

Another way is to spend the same amount of hours following the blogs of other successful authors for free.

I have three or four I follow weekly, others I follow if I have time to skim their blogs.

One is Michael A Stackpole. He has an interesting blog up on his site at the moment and well worth reading on 9 Must-have Clauses for Digital Rights Contracts.

I copied the text to my hard drive for future reference if I go the way of contracts and traditional publishing.

If you follow my blog you will already be aware that I follow Dean Wesley Smith and Joe Konrath.

I don’t write in the same genre, in fact, I have only read a few of their novels, but they know the industry and I am learning from them.

How do you learn? Do you follow other author’s blogs? Do you only follow other authors in the same genre you write? Or do you purchase every How To book on writing and wing it from there?

7 comments so far

  1. Rabia on

    Oh, that is an interesting question.

    Let’s see, I’ve learned about the writing biz from reading Holly (Lisle)’s articles and blogposts. I follow several group blogs like SFNovelists, Book View Cafe Blog, and Query Tracker. I like some of the agent blogs, particularly Pub Rants and the DGLM agency’s group blog. I’ve also been following Joe Konrath and Dean Wesley Smith (you introduced me to his blog). I’ve been on and off several different mailing lists, online workshops and writer forums. I’ve hung around the writing community long enough to have picked things up through osmosis, if nothing else. *grin*

    I haven’t paid as much attention to the business side of writing (rights, taxes, contracts, negotiations, etc) as much as I should’ve. I’m embarrassed to admit I don’t follow any editor’s or publisher’s blogs. I’ve been more focused on finishing and polishing my manuscripts (in between having babies) than actually submitting them.

  2. Angela/Curiocat on

    Mainly through blogs such as your own, HtTS, RT Book Reviews and other mags like it.

  3. Texanne on

    Right now, math is making me depressed–just got a look at the new taxes for next year, so right now I’m reading “100 extra-cheap recipes for beans, bugs, and dirty water that you family will adore” blogs.

    I’ve been around a long time (does anybody remember income averaging? It was great.) and have had several working writers as friends in real life. My writing income has all been write-for-hire, so my taxes have been about the same as they would be for a freelance housecleaner or gardener. Distribution is the big publishing thing, and that’s waning, due to the Internet. I’ve been keeping an eye on this for a long time. BTW, Konrath writes very enjoyable suspensy-type books and sells them online for a reasonable price.

    You have my appreciation for taking the time to blog about this, and to include links. Thanks!

  4. ekcarmel on

    Other than Holly Lisles’s huge amount of info. and the blogs of other writers I’ve gotten to know through that association (like you), I have a subscription to Writers’ Digest and get their newsletter which has lots of industry folks with blogs too. I tend to look at Nathan Bransford’s http://networkedblogs.com/730th who is an agent and Jane Friedman’s http://janefriedman.com/blog/ who is an editor at Writers’ Digest. Other than that, I mostly jump around.

    • djmills on

      Thanks for the links. I will check them out.

  5. ekcarmel on

    Ooo! Oooo! I forgot to mention another one, http://www.magicalwords.net which is a group of fantasy authors who take turns writing a blog and have a ton of information on writing and the business of writing.

    • djmills on

      I bookmarked it. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

