Working on my Marketing Plan

Do you have a marketing plan for your novels? Is it similar to mine?
So far this week, I have created the business card, the tear-off advertisement, and the email I will be sending to family and friends.

I have the latest novel cover completed and ready to put on my eBook blog. I have completed the last edit read through and only need to type up the changes this coming week.

I have discovered a week long local writers festival coming up in October at my local library. I will book my place at each talk the day they open for bookings.

Because of a question asked in last week’s blog, I am now working through my decision to have two blogs, this one, on writing about writing, and my other blog, under my pen name which is just for my eBooks.

Do I want to leave them separate or merge them? What are the benefits of merging the two areas, writing about writing and writing about my novels? Will I run two blog pages? Is it fair on my readers to wade through articles on writing which they do not want to know about? Is it fair on other writers to wade through blogs on my genre novels when they just want to learn about writing and marketing their genre eBooks?

I need to look at my target audience again. Yes, it is readers. Yes, they want to read about the next novel I am working on. Yes, they want to know when it will be published.

They will not want to know about how I work through the process on writing or how I market my eBooks. They just want to know about the characters and world and when the next books will be released.

So, at this stage, I will continue to keep the two sites separate.

Can you think of other actions I can take to market my ebooks? I will be happy to hear any suggestions.

8 comments so far

  1. Angela/Curiocat on

    I agree you should keep the two separate but I would put a link to each website on them. Simply because you may have some who are interested in how you got where you did. I went to Holly Lisle’s website to find out about her books but when I got there I got hooked on the writing, too.

    You might also want to contact your local bookstores, new and used, to see if they would be willing to display your books.

    Good luck.

    • djmills on

      Thanks, I will add the book coverrs to this blog with links.

  2. LisaM on

    Hi DJ,

    I’ve heard about online book tours that some ebook writers do to market their novels.

    I googled virtual book tours and here are a couple of links I came across that you might find useful:

    http://smallbiztrends.com/2006/09/online-book-tour-stop-no-5-in-women-we-trust.html (In this blog post, Anita Campbell briefly outlines what a virtual book tour is, and links to some examples.)

    http://ezinearticles.com/?What-is-a-Virtual-Book-Tour&id=346650 (This is an ezine article on virtual book tours with a link to the writer’s blog following her tour.)

    http://www.trcb.com/free-ebooks/business-and-economics/marketing/free-ebook-insiders-guide-to-virtual-book-tours-41.htm (This has a link to a free guide written by a Nikki Leigh about virtual book tours.)

    http://angiepedersen.typepad.com/book_of_me_shop/virtual-book-tour.html (This is a link to a guide on how to put together a tour. Costs $29.)

    I haven’t looked into this area of self-promotion in much depth so I can’t make any recommendations.

    • djmills on

      Thanks for the links, I will check them out.

  3. Angela/Curiocat on

    Duh. Just read my comment again. Sorry, still thinking in paper. Still, you could put flyers up advertising the books in the used/new bookstores.

    • djmills on

      It is not a bad idea. There is Lulu and other POD sites where I could order printed copies of my novel and distribute to local bookshops. I am waiting to see how the ebook goes first before outlaying money on printed books. 🙂

  4. LisaM on

    I’ve just read an article by Randy Ingermanson which might interest you:

    http://www.advancedfictionwriting.com/blog/2010/09/10/the-billion-dollar-book/

    • djmills on

      Thanks Lisa. I do follow his blog. Randy does have good articles.


Leave a Reply

