Clear concise steps for e-publishing

I just read Dean Wesley Smith’s blog and was impressed with the clear concise steps required to e-publish novels.

It is the same steps I took to publish on Smashwords. However, I have not taken the steps to put my stories up on Amazon or Publit yet, for a number of reasons, but mainly because I live outside the USA.

I recommend you copy and print out the blog, and the comments (more information in the comments) and keep it to reference when you are ready to publish.

Also, remember, while the steps are clear, there is no detail. I also recommend you print out the detailed instructions on Smashwords to format your word document for uploading. That covers all the details you need in formatting your Word doc for Smashwords.

I still need to obtain detailed steps from Amazon and Pubit for their sites.

What Dean did not cover was the steps required to obtain an Tax Identification number with the IRS, if your country has a tax treaty, to get paid the withholding tax Smashwords (and I assume the other sites) needs to retain before paying me for the books sold.

First, you click on your Smashwords Account Payee Information page and select the Defer Payment option.

All the forms and instructions you need are linked on the same Account Payee page. I recommend you download and print out the instructions as well as the forms.

Then you have to wait until you sell enough books so you can request an official letter from Smashwords showing you are earning money from an American company.

You need to earn $10.00 or more in sales, before you request a letter from Smashwords. This will take more than 2 weeks from the date you request the letter.

Once you receive the letter from Smashwords you need to fill out the W-7 form, attach a certified copy of your passport, and your letter from Smashwords and send to the Internal Revenue Service in Austin.

Smashwords advises it can take up to five months or more to process, and you will be sent the W-7 number.

Then you have to fill out a W-8BEN form and send to Smashwords, allowing them to release the withholding tax.

Once that is done, you change the Defer Payment option to Pay Me Now option and confirm your PayPal details are correct, then sit back and wait for the next rollout of payments.

When I receive my ITIN I can change the settings for distribution to withhold distribution to Amazon and Pubit, and upload my e-books myself. But, for now, I am selling my ebooks on all available Smashwords sites except Amazon while I wait.

Of course, in the time you are waiting, you will have completed your next novel, and uploaded it to Smashwords.

4 comments so far

  1. Tanja on

    Thank you so much for talking about this. It’s something I’m dreading… all this “nonsense” paperwork. But seeing it printed out like this makes it a little bit easier to face. So thanks once again 😀

  2. Angela/Curiocat on

    Just want to add my appreciation, too. I’m not even close to being ready but it helps to have an idea of what to expect.

    • djmills on

      Get a short story ready, check for typos, write a blurb, upload and set the price $0.00.
      Then write a novel while the short story is downloaded and a group of readers will slowly develop that likes your genre and style of writing. Do HTRYN runthrough of the novel, then read for typos, and don’t miss any. Upload, and start next novel. Easy. 🙂

  3. ekcarmel on

    Oh, boy – the fun stuff!! But since I haven’t gotten to that point yet, thanks for explaining what you know. Now, I’ll know what to expect.


Leave a Reply

