Holiday Greetings

I hope all of you have a wonderful safe holiday season, no matter your beliefs, and look forward to blogging with you again in January, 2011.

I will leave you with a recycled poem I wrote years ago. I deleted some verses due to their repetitiveness.

 

Holiday Season by D J Cornwell

There are three hundred and sixty days
We can put our mind to finding ways
Of locating presents and gifts
For loved ones, friends, near and missed.

Why is it most use the last moment
To hustle, rush and generally torment,
Try to locate and purchase the most
Useless object for someone who’s close?

It’s a frenzy of driving fast
Meeting impossible timeframes, leaving last
And rushing each friend visited
So the routine can be repeated.

Boxing Day is to catch up on sleep
But mostly just lying in a heap
Wondering why they went into debt
So they could stay with the fashion set.

Wouldn’t it be better to take the whole year
To visit with friends both near and dear
To find out what they want the most
And gift freely without the need to boast?

Have a wonderful holiday. 🙂

8 comments so far

  1. Tanja on

    I liked this! 🙂 I used to write poems in Swedish but haven’t done so in… hmm… almost 20 years :O Might be something to play with sometime in the future between all the other gazillion projects I want to do. 😀

    Wish you a very merry holiday!

    • djmills on

      Now I am writing full time, I don’t spend any time writing poems, unless it is a picture book story. You can always use one of your seed ideas and make it a poem. 🙂

  2. Tanja on

    Not a bad idea, I might do that. And I think I’ll do it in Swedish that way I can keep it as a thing I do just for the fun of it. Sometimes it’s good to have things that aren’t meant to be anything else than just for fun.

  3. Angela/Curiocat on

    Great poem! And so true. Being with friends and family throughout the year should be a goal for everyone to strive for.

  4. Texanne on

    Wonderful poem, Diane. You’ve expressed my feelings exactly! Thank you, and Merry Christmas.

    • djmills on

      Thanks, Texanne. 🙂

  5. ekcarmel on

    Oh, so true – great poem, Diane. I wish a wonderful and productive New Year!

    • djmills on

      Thanks. 🙂


Leave a Reply

