Welcome to 2011!

If, like me, you have been following the eBook growth over the past few years, you should read Mark Coker’s predictions for 2011.

Then check out Dean Wesley Smith’s take on Mark’s predictions. Also read all the comments. There are some gems of information scattered throughout the comments. In case you missed it, one commenter has clear instructions to get your ebook on Kindle. You will find it here.

Still with me? Good.

So, ebooks will grow. Authors who publish ebooks will make a higher precent on each sale then going through the Gate Keepers.

How excited are you?

A second article on Dean’s site explains his calculations for monitoring his goals for the year. He calls it eRace. What I found interesting is his explanation for the length of each story.

What does it mean for me?

I can write short stories up to 15K. Each earns 1 point.
When I group 5 short stories in a collection and sell that. Each collection earns 3 points.
I can write15K – 75K novels and sell them. Each novel earns 5 points.
I can write >75K novels and sell them. Add 1 point for each 15K over 75K

All it means is it is a quick way to keep score and see how I am progressing throughout the year.

I could also use the eRace points for pricing. If one point is $1.00 then it becomes easy for pricing. I keep the prices low which keeps readers happy.

What does this really mean for me?

Well, I have been told by Publishers and Editors that I have to write a first book of 90K words, and then I have to write longer works to get them published. Well, no, that is not accurate. I can write 90K novels until the cows come home, but if I do not conform to what each Editor is “looking for” in each genre I will not get it published traditionally. They are called the Gate Keepers for a reason.

Now the Gate Keepers can be bypassed, and my thinking has to change on the length of each novel.

Now, I can write a good story until the story is told, whether it is 50K, 90K or more, and it is still a sellable item online. The only difference would be the pricing structure.

So, are you ready for the new year? Do you have your goals set?

If you need story ideas, Tanja, (another graduate from Holly Lisle’s Career Survival School for Writers) has some wonderful exercises. Start on her first article From idea to story Seed and work through all the exercises. Great fun!

Let me know how many new story ideas you get, and Happy New Year.

6 comments so far

  1. Tanja on

    Thank you for linking to my website šŸ™‚

    I’m really excited over 2011! There are so many things I want to do and that I want to try both with my writing and on the business side of things. But first I have to write šŸ˜€

    • djmills on

      You are welcome. I love the exercises and happy to share with others.

  2. imotherofpearl on

    Happy New Year Diane! Good luck with your writing goals this year šŸ™‚

    • djmills on

      You too. Glad to see you have survived Xmas holiday. šŸ™‚

  3. Angela/Curiocat on

    It will be interesting to see how Mark and Dean’s predictions play out this year. Interesting times.

    • djmills on

      Extremely interesting times! šŸ™‚ My trouble is I can’t write fast enough to get more novels up on Smashwords and there is no way I will put my first few novels up without a complete rewrite.


Leave a Reply

