Wrong direction with my story

I had an interesting week of writing.

My muse did not want to play. I tried to keep going but I lost interest, so I stopped.

I also spent time in my back garden cutting down everything and mulching as much as possible because the back neighbour put up a new fence. That is another story!

When I was too exhausted to do any more in the yard, I came inside and tried to work through the problem with my draft.

I looked at the scene sentences, where the story had to go, and why I just did not want to write the following two scenes. It crossed my mind that I had lost interest in the story. It could have been the doubts I heard about but not experienced yet where writers get stuck in the middle, but it was not the middle, there were only nine or ten scenes to go to finish the book.

So, as per Holly’s advice, I stepped back, tracked all the scene conflicts from the start to the difficult scene.

I looked at the theme, and story sentence and finally found the problem. I was taking the story off in a direction it was never meant to go. I quickly wrote new scene sentences and deleted the few scenes that were not necessary to finish the book and close all the conflicts.

I ended up with about seven scenes to go, allowing for more if I needed them. And I set the 10 minute timer and wrote. My muse came out to play and I continued to write for two hours without resetting the timer. I love it when that happens.

Again the next day I wrote for two hours and was pleased with what I got done.

I now have four scenes left to write to finish this first draft and, hopefully, I can get them done this coming week.

I am looking forward to entering my hand written conflicts in the Conflict Tracker spreadsheet I set up when I finished HTRYN. Also the rest of the Stages and Sets that I let slip as I was writing the novel.

Of course, I hope the final scene will leave some questions as to what happens to the main characters next, in case I can write another book in the series.

I also downloaded three fiction ebooks from Smashwords during the Read an Ebook Week, and hope to find time to read them after the draft is finished.

How did your writing go this week? Has working through HTTS and HTRYN helped you recognise problems as soon as they happened and helped you solve the problems using the steps Holly teaches?

4 comments so far

  1. LisaM on

    That’s great that you found the problem with the story – and interesting that you didn’t feel like writing the problem scenes even before you identified what the problem was. 🙂

    • djmills on

      Yes, I was surprised that the problem was easy to fix by going through the conflict tracker. I would never have found it without HTRYN. I would either have stopped writing or kept writing in the wrong direction. I am so pleased I took both of Holly’s courses. They have paid off time after time.

  2. LisaM on

    Holly courses are fabulous – quirky techniques that you remember, that make perfect sense, and that yield results.

    Your experience about the muse not wanting to come out to play because of a problem scene reminds me of all the attempts I’ve made at my wrecked novel. The same thing happens to me. How I keep going wrong, though, I don’t know… I just know I do and that’s when I get the “losing interest” vibe which tells me the muse has departed.

    • djmills on

      The scene sentences mostly keep me on track even if there is a lot of leeway in each sentence. HTWAS also discusses getting off track and how to bring the story back on track during the series books. Fun!


Leave a Reply

