Learning Photoshop

I finally finished the first draft of my current work in progress at the end of last week. I will now leave it for a week or so before I start the One Pass Edit.

While I spent Monday walking around my local shopping centre waiting for my car to be serviced I discovered a magazine on Photoshop Projects. Wonderful projects from manipulating photos to creating a picture from scratch. I know it would be faster for me to draw the picture and use oil paints than it would learning how to do the same thing inside Photoshop or GIMP, but I read the steps for every one of the projects.

I got a good understanding of layers, selecting, moving, colour changing, etc.

I have an old version of Photoshop that does not have some of the tools, so spent a few hours clicking each menu option and watched the changes made to the original pictures I decided to practice on.

Totally frustrated, I googled Photoshop tutorials and found some easy to follow free tutorials. I started working through them until I gained some confidence and attempted a book cover for my YA story, Jazz’s Asteroid.

This is my first attempt.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What do you think?

Do you get the idea that it is science fiction because the planet is not earth?

Does the rock look like it is moving towards the planet?

7 comments so far

  1. Texanne on

    Your covers look great! I love that they all have the same basic design. Very important for branding. Honestly, I didn’t “get” that the planet wasn’t earth. The continents don’t look like earth, but the colors of blue, green, and white do look like earth. I think the rock would look more menacing if it seemed to be pointing toward the planet. Now, with all that I’ve said, keep in mind that I don’t read science fiction any more. A dedicated SF fan would probably see the premise of the book in one quick glance!

    • djmills on

      Thanks for the comments. I will hunt NASA site for a photo of larger rocks with one pointy end and test on the original. 🙂

  2. Angela/Curiocat on

    My first impression is wow, so cool. I actually didn’t think the planet was earth but it could be I’m biased. I didn’t get the rock is headed for the planet either. Can’t wait til the finished project. Which tutorials are you using for photoshop?

  3. Angela/Curiocat on

    Well, I think you’re doing a good job. I’m interested in checking out those tutorials, too.

  4. thepencilneck on

    I started messing around with Gimp to do a couple of cover attempts right before I started Nano last year.

    It was fun. Looks like you’re having fun and cranking out some good stuff. Rock on!

    • djmills on

      Thanks, tpn. It is still a lot slower than drawing and painting by hand and scanning in, but fun playing with the software.


Leave a Reply

