More Thoughts on Indie Publishing

I stop working every year for 2 weeks to watch the tennis during Wimbleton. The TV coverage starts at 9:00 pm and continue to 4:00 am, unless it is an Aussie player then it will continue to 6:00 am. Not that that happens very often because, lets face it, Aussie players are few and far between in the tennis rankings these years.

So, I sleep in until around midday for those two weeks, and of course, no writing gets done.

Last night, I checked the internet blogs I follow and the news before I turned off the computer around 10:00 and settled in to watch the tennis.

I woke this morning to discover that the world is warming to Indie publishing.

Each blog I checked had some information on the news that J.K. Rowling is going to Indie publish her Harry Potter series as interactive ebooks from her own web site.

This announcement opens up a whole lot of speculation.

You can read some of it on Passive Guy’s blog.

Do take note of some of the predictions he lists on what the J.K. Rowling announcement means for Indie authors.

Another link is Kristine Kathryn Rusch’s blog on short stories.

Also an interesting article was on Publishers Weekly advising fiction is the main ebook seller.

What I liked was the E-book market share of Unit Sales by Genre, in 2010 graph. I copied the graph to my computer for future reference. It confirmed what I read in another link that  short story ebooks were the best sellers and the genres were Literacy Fiction, Romance and Science Fiction. I can’t remember, but think the link was at the B&N site or a B&N article somewhere else.

The graph got me excited because I write and read science fiction.

I already studied my sales through my pivot tables for the first seven months I have been published on Smashwords. I worked out that I need to write a lot more short story or novelette or novella length fiction and a lot less novel length fiction, because the number of downloads of my short story far exceeded my novel downloads.

I think that both Kristine Kathryn Rusch’s blog and the above Publishers Weekly article confirmed what I have worked out.

Yet another site, J. A. Konrath’s blog has a wonderful suggestion for the layout of your ebooks including links to make your ebooks your second storefront.

Now, when the tennis is finished, and I start writing again, I will be writing science fiction short stories for quite a while, maybe 12 months worth like Dean Wesley Smith.

Do you have any other interesting articles and links that may help indie authors get the word out that their books are available to download and read? Marketing strategies? Other helpful hints for Indie authors?

6 comments so far

  1. curiocat on

    Your plans sound great. It seems to be the consensus that short stories are the way to go for getting experience, name recognition and to make a bit of money.

    Here’s another blog I read recently about it:

    http://www.magicalwords.net/edmund-r.-schubert/how-to-write-novels-and-short-stories-not/

    • djmills on

      I checked out the link. I firmly believe that the only time I will change/edit my stories is if the suggestions are written on the back of a cheque, and then, only after I have banked the cheque. 🙂

      DWS has a chapter up on revision. It is well worth the read.

  2. ekcarmel on

    Boy do things change quickly! It should be really interesting if what people are predicting regarding JK Rowling’s plans actually come to pass.

    Happy writing, once you’re back on your usual schedule!

    • djmills on

      Thanks. I looked at JK Rowling’s site, and subscribed to her newsletter, so I can watch her marketing strategy unfold . 🙂

  3. J.A. Marlow on

    Someone else who uses pivot tables!

    I love looking at stats and trends. Mine are saying something a little different (should write a blog post about that), but that’s to be expected. Trends will be different not only for different genres, but also for different writers because each writer will have different fans.

    As for a helpful link, I have one. This is a site I discovered a while ago, and I look forward to his monthly breakdown of the AAP numbers. In the graphs you can see trends staring from 2006 and forward. It’s what clued me into the ebook summer sales slump (and was why I didn’t panic like I saw so many other Indies). Great info on the publishing industry in general and how ebooks are changing it: http://ebookcomments.blogspot.com/2011/06/april-2011-ebook-sales.html

    • D J Mills on

      I love pivot tables. Thanks for the link, I will check it out.


Leave a Reply

