Update on Writing and Life

My new glasses arrived last Tuesday and I could start writing again.

I revised the novelette, ended up at 11,800 words. I have 8,500 words done on the second novelette in the series, with only 2 or 3 scenes left to complete it. The next 3 stories in the series are planned, but due to some good ideas my muse gave me while writing, the next one or two may change somewhat.

For those of you that are not aware, I love watching the tennis tournaments.

So, I took time off from Friday to Sunday, to watch Sweden play Australia in the Davis Cup to see which team will move into the top 16 countries to play in the next finals.

The three days of games were exciting, and are still not decided, because they ran out of daylight. I will have to watch the completion the fifth game of the fifth set of the fifth rubber tomorrow.

I really want Sweden to win, so they can play in the top 16 and give Roger Federer a chance of another trophy to add to his collection before he retires.

I guess I have to wait for tomorrow to see who wins.

I recommend all you Indie authors read Dean Wesley Smith’s blog on his ebook gift cards. You can find it here. http://www.deanwesleysmith.com/?p=5343

Read the comments, because more ideas are discussed that may also suit Indie marketing.

Other than enjoying the warmer Spring mornings, and writing, and other jobs I have to do, I am trying to keep my reading of blogs down to a bare minimum so I have more time to write each day. I am sadly failing, but still working on it.

I religiously check Dean Wesley Smith and Kristine Kathryn Rusch, along with The Passive Voice, first thing each morning. Then a quick scan of the local news, and I settle in to write.

I try to not look at any other blogs until I complete at least 1000 words.

Have any of you found blogs with good information on Indie writers? If so, please share.

I hope you are all productive in your writing projects this coming week.

6 comments so far

  1. taureanw on

    Congratz on the completion!!

    • D J Mills on

      Thanks, and welcome. 🙂

  2. Angela/Curiocat on

    Hey, Diane. What a coinkidink. I had to go get my glasses repaired this week but fortunately it only took them 30 minutes to do it so I got them back right away. I got a glass necklace to hold them and now I look like a real granny, I just need some grandkids to go with ’em. Those girls of mine aren’t cooperating.

    I’ve been reading blogs that are both for an against indie publishing. They’re quite a few who are adamant that indie publishing isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. I disagree but I still find it interesting to hear what they have to say.

    David Farland does a bit of both but he’s a little bleak on the indie publishing front. How expensive and how much work it is but he could just be trying to do some weeding along with his advise. I get his Daily Kick in the Pants newsletter.

    http://www.davidfarland.net/

    Chuck Wendig does a great writing blog in which he does talk some about publishing. Just a caution: he revels in bad language and whatever crosses his mind he vomits out. He’d agree with how I just said that. But I like him and learn while I laugh. I bought two of his e books on writing. He sent me an email to consume slowly and wait two hours to digest before swimming.

    http://terribleminds.com/ramble/

    I figured out Not A Paranormal! I’ve been stewing over that story for about a year now and I worked out what I want to do in it. It’ll be awesome, I think. Still stewing over the second Unicorn story, I hope it doesn’t take a year for that one. I’ve been sick so I haven’t worked On Star Crossed but it’s perculating, too.


Leave a Reply

