Thank you, Anne McCaffrey.

There is a numb spot in my heart where Anne McCaffrey used to reside.

No doubt like many others around the world, I fell in love with the characters in every book she wrote, even the romance stories.

She was the reason I changed my reading preferences from murder mysteries to science fiction. I know Americans think of Anne’s stories as fantasy, but, they were based on science, so I will continue to think of them as science fiction. I loved travelling to the many different planets and political systems she described, and I loved her strong characters making good decisions; even the women.

She was the reason I learnt how to write my own stories whenever I had free time.

She was my escape from every day life.

She was the reason I ignored all the negative feedback on my writing attempts and kept writing. I followed her advice: keep writing, finish each story and start another, while trying to sell the current and previous stories. (This was before ebooks.)

I waited in anticipation of more Pern stories when she passed the baton to Todd, and, yes, I purchased each one, ignoring the negative comments by other readers.

I have just finished reading Dragongirl by Todd McCaffrey, and look forward to his next release sometime next year.

So, thank you, Anne McCaffrey, for taking me on many exciting adventures with your words.

I am off to let the tears flow while I again travel read all her series and stand alone stories.

Thank you, Anne McCaffrey.

Condolences to your family and friends, and may you rest in peace.

6 comments so far

  1. Angela on

    Oh, lord. I just found out from you. This is such sad news. I grew up reading her and to this day I love her writing. For whatever reason The Crystal Singer series resonated with me and it’s one of my favorite science fiction series of all time. The Mark of Merlin among my favorite novels.

    I absolutely agree with you that her work is based in science. Anne McCaffrey herself described the science behind some of her work in an interview I read sometime ago. She actually had scientists help her work it out.

    Her son, Todd, was at Stellarcon in March, 2011. I was afraid to even go see him because I knew I couldn’t keep my mouth closed about his mother.
    I caught the tail end of one of his panels and regretted that I didn’t attend because he was so respectful of his mother and it was obvious how much he loved her. I’m so sorry for his loss.

    She lives forever in the timeless stories she has left behind but nonetheless I mourn her passing.

    • D J Mills on

      I love hearing stories of how she influenced people to read, and also how she helped many, many new authors. I can’t believe how sad I feel at the news of her passing.

  2. Angela on

    Hugs, Diane. And a virtual tissue for those tears. I hope you can take comfort in all Anne McCaffrey has done for you and everyone else who has read her work and been inspired.

    • D J Mills on

      Thanks, and hugs for you too. Hope you are feeling better. I have to phone my mum and let her know, when I have the tears under control. Mum borrowed every one of Anne’s books as soon as I finished them, so she could read them. Mum is around the same age as Anne and already noticing how all her friends and acquantances are disappearing.

  3. imotherofpearl on

    It has been a sad couple of months for fantasy and science fiction, with Anne McCaffrey and Sara Douglass both passing. I loved Anne McCaffrey’s The Ship Who Sang & similar tales, and the Pern stories were my first taste of speculative fiction. Vale Anne McCaffrey.

    • D J Mills on

      Yes. I have all of Sara Douglass’s books as well as every one of Anne McCaffrey’s books. I will continue to treasure each and every one.


Leave a Reply

