Completed my 2011 To Do List

I am now taking stock of what I achieved this year.

My novels, novella, novelettes and short story are available on both Smashwords and Kindle Direct. That in itself is a achievement. I can now say I understand how to format into HTML, compile to MOBI files and upload to Kindle Direct, after formatting the word document for Smashwords.
I am gaining confidence each cover I create.

I am happy with the first three novelettes in my new series, Galaxy Freight, and can’t wait to for Captain Alana Black to tell me what happens in the next two stories.

I am also looking forward to planning the next P. I. Robins adventure, to add to the single cosy mystery I wrote.

New goals for next year are write more stories and create covers and get them published.

That includes using Scrivener for all steps in the plotting, writing and compiling process, with many backups along the way.

I also need to learn more about marketing on the internet, such as using twitter and other tools to help readers discover my stories. And locate and participate in review sites for Science Fiction Adventure stories.

I should also print out my 2012 Year Planner, ready for January. The actual size is A3. I print it on 4 X A4 pages and glue them together.


If you would like a copy of my Excel template for creating Year Planners, I will be happy to email a copy.

What about you? Have you completed your To Do list for 2011?

Are you already preparing new To Do lists for 2012?

Have a wonderful holiday.

12 comments so far

  1. Linda Adams on

    I had a few goals:

    1. Complete the final draft of my contemporary fantasy by the end of December. Done.

    2. Do a fast pass edit in one week of the contemporary fantasy to remove any unnecessary flotsam that will interfere with a thorough edit. Done.

    3. Do general research of the setting for my next book, also to be done by the end of the year. Done.

    4. Finish the book review due before January 12. In progress, because I’m waiting on someone else. Very hard to do. The book turned out to be not for me.

    • D J Mills on

      Well done! Great goals with good outcomes. I just wish there was more time each day so I can get more writing done! 🙂

  2. Angela/Curiocat on

    Congrats on reaching your goals for 2011. Wonderful job on everything you’ve done and created.

    I did not set up goals for 2011 mainly because I brought in the new year sick and spent the first six mths sick off and on. If I had to say any goals were met then the unofficial goal of boosting of my immune system has been met. I have done so much better these last few months than I have the last couple of years.

    Next year? Email your planner please. I’ll set up some goals and see how I do.

    • D J Mills on

      I would say you met a major goal by improving your health. Well done!

      Emailing the template now. 🙂

  3. Prue on

    Congratulations on achieving so much and getting published! That is good to hear 🙂

    I might have had goals for 2011 but everything went out of the window with Mr Prue ill for so long. He’s recovering but it will take time. I had to shelve my mystery story and buried myself in a short story set in the West of Scotland. That and writing some poetry, watching comedy films and reading textbooks helped to keep me sane. I feel a bit antsy about making goals for next year.

    However, I plan to finish revising that short story, and on 1st January I’ll start rereading my novel prior to sorting out the problems which still remain…and finish revising it.

    Could I have a copy of that Excel template? It looks very useful. Thanks.
    Wishing you a happy, healthy and productive 2012!

    • D J Mills on

      Email with Excel Planner sent. 🙂

  4. Prue on

    PS have you seen http://warriorwriters.wordpress.com/?
    Kristen has written a book on how to use Twitter to effect.

    • D J Mills on

      I have been following TweetSmarter, and slowly learning about what to do and not do in Twitter. 🙂 Mostly, Twitter is a waste of time better spent writing, creating covers, editing, and learning who my readers are.

  5. ekcarmel on

    Congratulations on achieving your goals. I have nothing but admiration for the way you get things done, Diane!

    I wish you another productive year for 2012!

    • D J Mills on

      Thanks! I wish you a productive year also, and look forward to your book appearing in Smashwords and Amazon.

  6. Sharon Beck on

    Congratulations on having set and reached your goals! And, I want to thank you for alerting me to the Scrivener software. My husband and I are book designers and publishers, but we were just talking about writing a book together and wondering about how to organize it. Scrivener looks like just what my we need for organizing our writing.

    • D J Mills on

      Welcome! Sorry I missed your comment but glad you like Scrivener and hope your writing is going well. 🙂


Leave a Reply

