Redesigning Broken Faith ebook Cover

After some more Photoshop Project attempts where I created a space scene from three different pictures, then created a planet from scratch, created new brushes, and practiced separating part of an image from the whole image, I played around with redesigning the cover for Broken Faith, based on my findings from researching eBook covers.  All fun!

For this novel, the main character has her faith broken by the human leaders on the colony where she worked as a gene engineer developing the potential of human psychic abilities. Hence the title, Broken Faith.

So, checking the elements in the first attempt at a cover, I displayed a river, which plays a major part in helping her escape.

I included an atmospheric craft, belonging to the male who crashed near her, and who she helped return to the coast so he could be rescued by his people waiting in space.

Other elements are aliens, three different types, with more in other stories in the series. I elected not to draw them. If I included them, I would take the time to do an oil painting and scan that into the computer, which would remove my need to learn Photoshop and manipulating photos.

The remaining important element is that the novel is science fiction adventure.

The published ebook cover is in the right hand column, if you wish to check it out.

First, I looked at dropping the horizon so the atmospheric craft can be clearly seen above the horizon.

Broken Faith by Diane J Cornwell

Next, I looked at displaying a female character. I downloaded a few, but have still not decided on which one to use, so used one with a head scarf. I removed the craft, and placed the lady on the left of the picture.

I feel that the image implies religious faith, not belief in the political system on the planet.

Broken Faith by Diane J Cornwell

I went through the questions on ebook covers from the previous blog. I realised the background did not imply the genre, so I tried again. I removed the land and sky. I added a background of space with stars, and placed a planet in the top right hand corner.

Broken Faith by Diane J Cornwell

In all of them, I left the font shape and size alone. They are clearly read on the different sites. At the moment, I need to create covers that attract the attention of readers, both in USA and elsewhere.

So, what do you think?

Do you like any of them?

None of them?

Let me know what you think in the comments.

3 comments so far

  1. Angela/Curiocat on

    Hey, Diane. I really like the last cover. I think it gives a whole new feel to the book. If I were just glancing through looking for something to read I would definitely give it another look just based on the design.

    Great job.

    • D J Mills on

      Thanks for the encouragement. I need it. 🙂

  2. […] And my last attempts are redesigning my Broken Faith cover are here. […]


Leave a Reply

