Writing Update

I am busy writing Galaxy Freight 5 and having fun planning problems for the Captain to keep her from her objectives.

I just read an interesting article by by David Gaughran on setting up a simple E-Bookstore.

What was interesting is you don’t need a web site, you can use your blog. There is one problem, not allowing Paypal as one of the options of paying for the eooks. However, by the time I am ready to set up my E-Bookstore on my blog, I am sure David will have that problem worked out.

I also think it is interesting to put a link in the back matter of my ebooks directing the readers back to my E-Bookstore. It is one more choice for readers. It is also an opportunity to sell or give away short stories to reward readers who visit my blog.

You can find the article here.

Let me know what you think. Have you heard of Gumroad? Do you use Gumroad?

Now back to writing.

6 comments so far

  1. LisaM on

    Hi Diane. No, I’ve never heard of Gumroad, but I’m off to check it out.

    All the best planning those obstacles for your captain! šŸ™‚

    • D J Mills on

      Thanks, Lisa. šŸ™‚

  2. curiocat on

    This is an interesting option for all do it yourself folks. It is a huge drawback that Paypal is not an option though. Hopefully that will change soon.

    I’m assuming you plan to continue selling through Smashwords, Amazon, etc?

    • D J Mills on

      Yes, sell through as many distributors as possible to expand reader list. So far, the only PDF version of each story is on Smashwords. I can put PDFs in my own store. šŸ™‚

  3. Grace Brannigan on

    I have been checking out gumroad this weekend. I get more hits on my website than my blogs, so I thought I’d try it for the 4 books I have on Amazon and Smashwords. I also thought of just doing two types of files, specifically a mobi file and pdf. I would still do the Amazon and Smashwords selling, but see how the gumroad off my site works too.

    • D J Mills on

      I would love to hear how it goes after 1-12 months compared to Amazon and Smashwords. šŸ™‚ Good luck with it.


Leave a Reply

