Latest Cover Attempt

Way back on February 12, I discussed redesigning my Broken Faith ebook cover, based on the results of researching book covers.

If you want to read how I dissected the different areas of cover design, you can find it here.

And my last attempts are redesigning my Broken Faith cover are here.

After spending lots of time playing around with the ideas I had, I can now say I settled on the photo of the lady wearing a scarf and with an space background but a lot different from the third example in the previous article.

I also decided it was better to create a POD cover first because it is much easier to select just the front area of the print cover and use that for an ebook cover, rather then spend twice as long, creating two covers.

So, I read up on space for spine, bleed areas, etc and worked out the dimensions for the POD cover. The best instructions are at Createspace.

I guessed the spine width. I will not know the exact size until I format the novel and enter into the program that calculates the sizes.

Once I had the text fields laid out, the background graphic and the main character graphic were easy to move around.  I still have to place the ISBN on the back cover. And move the placement of the spine text and back cover text, after I obtain the final spine width, but for now, I think this cover works.

From this, I copied and pasted into a new file for the ebook cover.

Now, I have to locate another female character on one of the web sites and purchase it, so I can create the next two POD covers for the Broken series, using the same stars in the background. All I have to change is the female, and the text fields.

I believe the more I experiment (practice) the more I improve my ability to create covers, but, you may think differently.

Feel free to add your comments. I am still learning, and will look at all comments as helpful.

8 comments so far

  1. imotherofpearl on

    That cover looks great Diane. I think using a photoreal illustration adds to the overall image of the book, and it definitely fits with the blurb on the back. I love the way image wraps over the spine and on to the back as well.

    • D J Mills on

      Thanks. I looked at more than 50 of the better SciFi book covers on my shelves while studying how they were designed. I am still not sure about the font in the back text area. I will print out the full cover (b&w) and check the fonts again.

  2. curiocat on

    Wonderful job, Diane. I love the cover. I have a question for you. Which do you prefer creating, the story or the cover? Or are they the same for you?

    • D J Mills on

      Thanks for the comments. When I am writing, I miss painting, but when I am painting, I miss writing. I try to set time aside for both. Creating the covers seems to fill the void of not painting or drawing. I still believe it is quicker to draw and use oils or water paints to paint the picture (about two days with breaks), and scan into the computer to manipulate, then the time needed to create the picture from start to finish inside a graphic progam on the computer. If I keep practicing, I will no doubt get faster at completing a picture inside the graphic programs.

  3. Lisa on

    Hi Diane, it’s a great cover and I love the background on the POD cover too. Seeing a person on the front cover always makes me ask “Who is this?” and “What’s their story?”. Two good questions for readers to ask!

    • D J Mills on

      Thanks, Lisa. The blurb (back cover text) should answer those questions. Now off to edit another story.

  4. thepencilneck on

    Looking good. I like this one much more than the last one.

    • D J Mills on

      Glad to hear I am finally on the right track with the covers. Thanks. 🙂


Leave a Reply

