Update

I have now completed another course with Dean Wesley Smith, called Genre Structure.

I would recommend this six week course to any writer looking to write fiction in more than one genre. In fact, I would recommend this course to any fiction writer at whatever stage in their writing career, because Dean explains the differences between all the genres currently on the market.

The one outstanding part of the course is the differences between mid list fiction and best seller fiction, and what the readers expect when they select different genres.  

Now I have a lot of ongoing study, researching different genres and analysing best sellers, and learning how they plot their novels along with reading through the notes I took during the course, hoping more information sinks in as I refresh my memory.  

I also have the basic outlines of another four stories from the assignments set, so I need to settle down and start writing again.

At the same time as taking my course, Dean Wesley Smith wrote a ghost novel and he blogged each day of the process of writing a 70K word novel in 10 days

If you want to understand how a professional writer writes a 70K word novel in 10 days along with all the other daily business tasks, then start at day 1 and work your way through the blogs. I also learnt a lot by reading Dean’s answers to the comments following each blog.

I was impressed enough with his process that I have now worked out chunks of time that I will write, then take a break and do those annoying things such as eat, mow lawns, shop, and whatever, before coming back to write for another hour or two. I will see how it goes with a few writing episodes and build up to more hours writing each day until I can produce 5-10K words daily.

Along with that, I am on the last few pages of editing my current science fiction story, Sensing Danger, and hope to have it published this week.

Keep writing and having fun.

3 comments so far

  1. E.K. Carmel on

    Taking a course like that is always a huge motivator. Good luck with your writing! As someone who writes really slowly, I’m going over to DWS’s blog right now.

    • D J Mills on

      I am now striving to follow his example of writing 7-10K each day by finding chunks of time throughout the day, but not there yet. 🙂

  2. curiocat on

    Hey, Diane. Thanks for sharing your progress with us. Can’t wait to see more about the stories you’ve come up with. I haven’t been keeping up DWS here lately but I’m reminded to head over there now with Eileen.


Leave a Reply

