Creating Print on Demand Interiors and Covers Using Scribus Final Comments

I have completed the layout of my manual using the blog posts.

I followed the steps in the blog posts to build the layout for this manual, and was surprised that I did not deviate from the process at all. 

As per the feedback from my first readers, I added more screen shots to each section and cleared up some sentences that were not so clear to the readers, but mostly, the final product is the same as the blog posts.

I printed out the PDF file, 2 pages per sheet of A4 paper, and went through, looking for spelling mistakes, places where I could add a hyphen to tighten up white spaces, and studied the overall layout.

I came to the conclusion that the purists of book layouts need to step back and think about the “rules”.  I decided not to worry about all the last lines of paragraphs that flow onto the first line of the next page. However, once I have the final print I may change my mind.

Of course, it may just be my Aussie humour; writing a book about using certain software programs to create interior layouts, and deliberately breaking the current rules of interior layouts.

Then I had a thought. What if I counted the deliberate “errors” I left in the layout, and ran a competition and if a reader located an error not on my list, they should get a free copy of one of my novels. I decided that was not viable because they may not enjoy reading science fiction, but be interested in the manual to learn about layouts.

So, I decided to just get the POD and eBook up on the sites, and leave them alone to sink or swim.

I will do the last run through of the Smashwords doc for the eBooks, and upload it, then upload the CreateSpace version, and wait for my first print copy. Excitement!

In the meantime, I thought you might like to view the latest version of the cover.

I studied a lot of book cover layouts for different computer manuals and discovered that most computer manuals have colourful flower, pens or other writing tools, or animals that have nothing to do with the manual, with lots of text, or just lots of text using different font shapes and sizes.

Being me, I decided to put a screen shot of Scribus with layout templates on the front, along with the working title.

I do feel that I need a border around the eBook cover, but the print cover looks good as it is.

ScribusEBookCover

 

ScribusCover2-page001

 

So, what do you think? Boring? OK? Fine?

Feel free to comment.

4 comments so far

  1. Angela/curiocat on

    I like the cover. You did a great job.

    • D J Mills on

      Thanks! 🙂

  2. E.K. Carmel on

    For being a technical how-to, I think the cover works well.

    I had just one quibble. I think the block of blue on the front cover breaks up the title in an awkward spot. The blue works as a highlight of the title. Just my personal opinion, but I think it might work better if the block was down further, under the “& Covers”. I know it’ll effect the back copy, but, I think you’ll agree, the cover is more important.

    • D J Mills on

      Thanks for the suggestion. 🙂 I will try lowering the top colour bar. I did try putting all the title in the top colour area, but it is too cramped, hence moving it down and breaking where I did. I also tried PoD instead of the full words to shorten the title, but changed it back for clarity of info available on the cover.

      Decisions! Decisions! The good thing about Indie publishing is I can change it at any time if it is not working. 🙂


Leave a Reply

