First Flash Fiction Published

I just published my first Flash Fiction stories created from Holly Lisle’s How to Write Flash Fiction That Doesn’t Suck free course.

I would recommend this course to any writer from beginner to advanced writer.

I admit I prefer to write science fiction, but while doing the exercises, I thought up six fantasy stories, instead of five science fiction stories, so decided to try my hand at fantasy. I was mildly surprised how well the stories came out.

I have to admit I wrote over 1000 words for each story, but when I started cutting the excess, I got into the swing of it and was amazed how well I did. Of course, I only sent the stories to four beta readers, but got good feedback from each of them. So, thank you beta readers.

SeedsOHopeEbookCoverWeb

Writing the blurb was another matter entirely. I have had the experience of selling short stories before and readers writing comments about expecting a novel and getting a short story instead, so took that into account with the blurb.

Blurb:

Seeds of Hope includes 6 flash fiction fantasy stories, all under 500 words long.

Each uplifting story contains characters that strive for a better life, both for themselves and others.

Smashwords: US $1.49

Other news:

I received my proof copy of my non fiction book, Creating Print on Demand Interiors and Covers Using Scribus 1.4.1.

I love the shiny cover and cream paper.

I found 11 errors and fixed them and approved the print book for distribution.

You can find the print book at CreateSpace. It will take another 7 days to roll out to Amazon and elsewhere, so I don’t have the links yet.

I have been busy with publishing tasks, and editing tasks and plotting another story. I hope to finish editing the second Sensing Danger Novella by the end of next week, and worry about a cover after that.

Hope you are all writing and getting stories published before the Xmas rush.

And have fun.

4 comments so far

  1. E.K. Carmel on

    Congratulations! After reading your last post and this one, I see you are one busy lady. Don’t forget to take some time to relax, too.

    • D J Mills on

      🙂

  2. Angela/curiocat on

    Hey, Diane. I read the short stories and loved them. You did a great job. Looking forward to seeing what you do with the science fiction stories.

    • D J Mills on

      Glad you liked the flash fiction. I loved writing them, even if I wrote 1000 words then cut every word I could find to bring it down under 500 words. 🙂 I can’t wait to start writing the scifi flash stories after I start the novel they will relate to, but I am still working out the characters, world, and all the rest. 🙂


Leave a Reply

