IndieReCon 2015 is over for another year.

IndieReCon 2015 is over for another year.

If you missed the Indie writing conference, it was full on with talks from many varied aspects of publishing, with a new video talk or blog post every hour. Also, each article conveniently listed Australian Eastern Standard time, so it saved me checking on the World Clock to make sure I didn’t miss reading the questions and asking questions in Google + while the video talk happened.

I noticed a lot of the talks were repeat information for beginner writers so I only skimmed the details, but other talks were more advanced and had some relevant information, so I took notes.

I entered a few of the competitions, because some of the prizes I did not need or already owned. Of course, I did not expect to win anything, and if I did, I expected the same results as last year, where I never downloaded the prize due to the server dying where the eBook was stored, and then losing the email address to contact the author about claiming my eBook when my laptop died.

By the third day I was wondering if it was worth my time, as most of the talks were for beginners, so I picked a few to watch or read before I went back to writing.

A few days later I decided it had been worth my time. I can return to the saved events to check on any details where my notes were not clear enough. If you missed the events, you, too, can look under IndieRecon Events tab on the web site and check each of the three days articles and videos.

I learnt about a few web sites where I can advertise my new releases, I learnt of some new software tools that would help marketing, and I won a prize.

Most of all, I seem to be more enthusiastic about increasing my word count to get more books published.

And, I won an Online Lecture from David Farland, which I hope to watch this weekend.

So, all in all, I think IndieReCon 2015 was well worth the time it took away from my writing and publishing, as I feel I am keeping up to date with what is happening in Indie Publishing in 2015.

What do you think? Was IndieReCon 2015 worth watching? Did you learn new ways to market? Or would you be better off writing?

Now back to writing and having fun.

5 comments so far

  1. E.K. Carmel on

    Yes, lately I also find myself sifting through quite a bit of beginner info to get to something I can use. Too bad the conference seemed geared more that way but as long as you got something out of it, it’s worth it.

    Happy writing!

    • Lady Q on

      I watched one or two sessions, and skimmed through a few more. Like you said, a lot of information was for beginners. Which sessions in particular did you get the most out of?

      • D J Mills on

        Hi, some talks on advertising and learning new web site names. Those sessions I remember at the moment were Kobo, Self Publishing and Marketing Children’s Picture Books by Karen Inglis, Optimize Your Ad for Bookbub, Start an Author Co-op, and I think Content Marketing by Jane Friedman. I need to watch Jane’s talk again to take some notes. Oh, you might want to check out Nick Stephenson’s first 10K readers. I wrote about Nick a couple of blogs back, and now trying to finish the third story in a series, so I can put his steps into practice to gain my first 10K readers. 🙂
        I forgot to add in David Farland’s video. I am watching it again, and I already have his book Million Dollar Outlines. 🙂

  2. Anonymous on

    Hello, Diane.
    Just starting to watch a couple of the videos from this year’s IndieRecon. So far I’ve watched three with Mark Coker, Joel Friedlander and the one with David Farland. I thought all three had something to share that was worth my time.

    The last half or so of the lecture with Mark Coker was the best where he talked about what to expect in the next year or two with self-publishing. I was also interested to note he is not happy with Amazon.

    Joel Friedlander was as always interesting. I really didn’t learn anything new but it did reinforce and remind me of things where formatting is concerned so it was worth the time.

    David Farland’s lecture should not be missed; it was brilliant. His insight concerning how to write the book you want to a certain market is absolutely inspired. Every word was pure gold.

    I’m looking forward to watching more as time permits. I hated to miss the live lectures but it sounds like you were in luck with a win. Yay.

    Peace,
    Angela

    • D J Mills on

      David Farland’s lecture was good. About 5 minutes into the video, I realised it was a small sample of his book Million Dollar Outlines. I have the 2013 edition and am reading through again, because I am trying to understand action & emotion beat spacing a little better for my plots. In fact, every time I read through the book I seem to understand another area a little better. 🙂

      Oh, watch Nick Stevenson on building lists of your readers if you get time. Worth it. I signed up for another internet talk with him on How to Create a Profitable Facebook Ad System That Gets Leads & Sales on Autopilot, on Thursday my time, probably Wed night for you. I don’t use Facebook but I want the info for advertising on other web sites. 🙂


Leave a Reply

