Sneak Peek at New Cover

I am busy with editing and designing the cover, ready for the print version of my first fantasy in a new series called Tracker to be published.

As usual I struggle with writing blurbs or cover copy to entice readers to pick up my stories. So, the cover copy, along with the rest of the cover may change before “Rider” is ready to publish.

So, here it is.

First Tracker Cover Attempt

Remember, once I have the interior page count finalised, I will adjust the spine and back text.

So, does it imply Fantasy?

Does it catch the reader’s attention?

Feel free to comment below.

Keep writing and having fun.

 

5 comments so far

  1. sallieolson on

    What jumps at me as a horse person is that the horse is standing still while the man is running. Plus, the grass the horse is standing in is short pasture grass that doesn’t match the deep underbrush of the surrounding forest. (nitpick, I know, lol) And then while the forest and horse are realistic, the man looks a little cartoony. It would probably be easier to make the forest and horse match the man than vice-versa. Maybe a photoshop filter like watercolor or paint? I wonder if you could find a stock image of a horse and handler where the horse’s head is down as if sniffing something while the handler is looking down at whatever the horse is sniffing. Perhaps by searching Google public domain images of clicker training horses since those types of trainers would teach a horse to touch/sniff a “target” (usually a ball, which would be easy to remove from the image). Then it would fit the Tracker title and story arc. JMHO. 🙂

    • D J Mills on

      Thanks for the comments.
      Already photoshopped using oil brush/paint (I think) on all except horse. Very special horse. 🙂

      • sallieolson on

        Your horse, by chance? He/she is beautiful! 🙂 Reminds me of a gelding I rescued a lifetime ago. (In looks, AFTER I nursed him back to health, lol)

  2. sallieolson on

    Oops, tracker STORY not title. See how my short term memory is? LOL

    • D J Mills on

      I know what you mean. Series: Tracker, story: Rider. 🙂


Leave a Reply

