January Writing Life.

January only has one week left! Where does the time go?

I normally have January off work, so that I can watch the Australian Tennis. This January is no different to previous years.

Any New Year Resolutions are all gone and forgotten in this household. However, my publishing goals list is growing as I think of more tasks I could add to marketing, writing, and admin areas.

I am mowing the lawn fortnightly (could be weekly but I like watching grass grow) because it takes that long for my muscles to settle down after using the brush cutter (heavy) and path trimmer (effort exerted to push the tool alongside the cement paths).

But the exercise of pushing a noisy petrol driven mower up and down, up and down, (back and front yard, and outside are sloped) allows time for my creative brain to think up new ideas and solutions to the conflicts I set up in each story. 🙂

One question I asked before I mowed last week was what are the talisman items like in my new fantasy world.

The answer was ornaments that collect dust.

I think that related to the day I spent climbing on chairs to use the vacuum cleaner to dust the tops of cupboards and bookcases.

I answered that thought with the suggestion that the talisman would only work to block magic while in the room with the ornaments. I needed something that could be worn. 🙂

The answer was a necklace, ring, bangle, or sewn into their clothes.

Butterfly-Web seahorse-Web

Yes!

I settled in, with all fans whirling to push the heat outside, to watch the tennis and thought about making a necklace, ring, bangle or whatever.

As I had no idea how to do that, because I normally go to a jeweler shop to buy any jewelry I think I need, off I went to the library and borrowed a book on creating jewelry.

I skimmed through the book while adverts were rolling and was amazed at what people can do to create beautiful jewelry. Definitely eye opening!

Anyway, as I have been creating lots of samples of tatting for a class I will be teaching this year for creative groups, I looked at one sample of how to add beads to tatted rings and chains and realised I had a talisman in front of me.

Bangle-Talisman-Web

I could describe what it felt like to wear. Once the bangle was on my arm, the cotton thread warmed to match my skin temperature and I could not feel it any more. If I moved my arm the dangling beads moved and reminded me I was wearing it.

I looked at the pearls (cheap, not really pearls) I thought of how a mage could store magical energy (ichur) in each pearl that could activate to protect the wearer.

I now have an element to add to my current story!

My assassin can wear a similar bangle that protects her. If someone shoots an arrow towards her, one of the beads will release the stored ichur to destroy the arrow before it enters her body.

Of course, she is not a mage, so unless she is told how the talisman works she will have no idea she is protected. I need to think about whether she would take more risks if she knew the bracelet protected her. 🙂

I am still working on what the difference could be between the small and large pearls, but I am now keen to return to my current story to add the new element, and how she reacts to each pearl releasing the ichur when needed. Should be good conflict!

Other than that, writing the current story has slowed, with the daily word count falling to 500 odd words a day.

How is your monthly writing going?

What have you discovered that has helped you with your current story?

No matter what it is, keep writing and having fun.

 

Details on Rider, my first fantasy book in the TrackeHTTSTracker1EBookCover-3WEBr Series is available here.

 

7 comments so far

  1. sallieolson on

    Hooray for jewelry making!!! (One of my favorite side hobbies, very relaxing!) 🙂 Sallie

    • D J Mills on

      Fun, isn’t it? 🙂

  2. notewords on

    That bracelet is gorgeous! 😉

    • D J Mills on

      Thanks, and welcome to my writing blog. 🙂
      I checked out your sites, and nice tatting happening at your place, too. 🙂

  3. E.K. Carmel on

    I like it – very cool idea!

    • D J Mills on

      Thanks. 🙂


Leave a Reply

