Is the eBook Market Still Growing, Settling or Dying?

Are you, like other indie authors, worried about the slow down of sales of your ebooks on Amazon?

Did you read about Amazon Select sales not showing in many author’s Amazon reports, and how Amazon is working on it. And other comments said sales outside Select were also not showing in the Amazon reports?

I do not have any eBooks in Select, but I have all my eBooks in Amazon, along with Kobo, iBooks, B&N, Smashwords and all the other sites that Smashwords distributes to.

Even though I am seeing less eBook sales on Amazon, I am not worried at all.

Because I am seeing an increase of sales across all other distributors, including libraries in USA. I am also seeing a few POD sales through Extended Distribution via Createspace, as well as POD sales via Amazon outlets.

Other than that, publishing has peak sale periods and slow sales periods, depending on seasons, holidays and other distractions, such as the current US Election.

So, after sorting out my plumbing problems under my house, I am now back to writing in the mornings, hoping to finish my current story before the end of November, then get it edited and published ready for January, 2017.

And following some blogs, forums, and publishing news in the afternoons. I discovered Reedsy.com, a site offering free Marketing, Publishing and Writing courses.

I signed up for Book Marketing 101 and received 10 emails covering basic book marketing.

Not much new to marketing since last year, and years before. But I do recommend the email course because it includes some good links inside each email.

We all know we need reviews for our eBooks and the only way to do that is by asking genre readers or genre reviewers for reviews in exchange for ARCs before publishing each book.

I do include a request at the end of each electronic and print book for readers to write a review. But I have heard on one writer forum that Amazon is making it harder for readers to actually read About the Author and Other Books by the Author at the end of each eBook.

Next book I publish, I am thinking of placing the review request at the start of the book and see if I get any reviews from it. And I heard another tip suggesting I remove the page break after THE END and before the About the Author page.

One good way to get eBooks in front of readers is by using a Goodreads Giveaway but we have to give the winners print copies, not eBooks. This includes postage to the country each winner lives in.

So work out the postage costs, and send directly from CreateSpace to the readers. You purchase at the author price, not retail price, and add the cost for postage.

Or select a bookstore in the same country as the winner, and purchase your own print book and add the winner address for delivery. That way, you still receive your royalty payment from the sale.

Before you do a giveaway with Goodreads, read Catherine Ryan Howard’s blog post on Goodreads Giveaways, which was linked inside the Reedsy Book Marketing 101 email course.

I am going to try this one for the first book in my Tracker series just before I release the fourth book.

Another link was to an interactive List of 100+ Book Promotion Sites and Free Submission Tool at readersintheknow.com.

In the Pros and Cons of Exclusivity in using Amazon Select blog link on http://www.thecreativepen.com some cons are covered.

I would add another Con.

While exclusive with Amazon, you eBook is not available outside Amazon’s reach in other countries. So you are potentially missing out on foreign publishers discovering your books.

Being wide, you might get foreign publishers to discover your book, and , if they like the story, they can contact you for a foreign rights contract, where they translate to their language and sell in their foreign language country via all web site distributors and bookstores.

There are more links, but I will leave them for you to explore after you sign up to the course.

So, I believe nothing has changed in the eBook Industry, other than an election in USA distracting US readers.

We still need to write more stories, upload to every major eBook distributor, as well as print via CreateSpace and/or Lightning Source, including Extended Distribution.

We need to let readers around the world know when we publish each story, by blogging, advertising, offering free copies (ARCs) in exchange for a review on Amazon and other sites, and announcing to our mailing lists.

We need to run a giveaway or two on Goodreads, even if we only give away 3 print copies, because we are still getting our books in front of potential readers.

For discounted or free eBook copy giveaways, use Instafreebie, and try some of the other sites listed at readersintheknow.com

Choose sites that have large mailing lists in your book’s genre to reach more readers.

Set up a spreadsheet for each giveaway or discounted sale and enter sales during the giveaway and after the giveaway. Compare sales via the different promotion sites and only repeat for your next published book on those sites that gained the most sales.

Let my know which promotion sites you used and how successful they were after each promotion. Together, we can sort out the good sites from the poor performance sites, and help everyone become successful indie authors.

Oh, I also read that Amazon is opening their advertising for all ebooks on Amazon, not just those in Select.

I may even run an advertisement on Amazon next year when I finish the Tracker series.

So, keep writing and having fun.

2 comments so far

  1. Eileen on

    Good post, Diane. Lots to consider.

    I’ve been watching Amazon and its connection to the Indie Author community over the last few years. The thing that surprises me is that authors keep forgetting that Amazon isn’t their friend. It’s a multi-billion dollar, worldwide corporation. Of course it’s going to change the rules to make Amazon money, not the authors. What it does have is exposure, visibility, reach. That’s what I plan to take advantage of when I publish. I plan to go exclusive to begin with, simply to get my name out there. Then go wide.

    The industry is changing so fast. It’s not a set-up and sit back kind of thing. We have to pay attention and roll with the punches, just like any other business. And you seem to be doing that.

    Good luck, Diane!

    • D J Mills on

      Sounds like a good plan. 3 months in Select, then go wide. A lot of authors are doing exactly that and grew their reader list quickly.

      I did not use 3 months in Select, just went wide from beginning. Now have readers purchasing from many countries, and slowly growing my reader list. 🙂


Leave a Reply

