Planning for 2017

Looking back over 2016 plans I can say I “failed” to complete all my plans for 2016 but I did “succeed” in most of them. So a big win for me!

To end the year, I need to create the 2016 Tift Publishing Catalogue with links to published books onto Tift Publishing web site.

I had planned on writing and publishing five Fantasy stories based on horses who can smell and track magic use.

I wrote the first three Tracker stories, Rider, Guard, Judge, and got them published, but life interfered in the second half of the year. While I was dealing with life issues, I wrote Mage, but will not get it edited and published until late January or early February, 2017.

HTTSTracker1EBookCover-3WEBGuardEbookCoverWebJudgeEbookCover4web

If you want the links to this series, click the images in the right side column which will take you to the Tift Publishing page with all the links for each story.

 

Any plans I had of writing five short stories a week for a month in 2016 by using Lester Dent’s process, or just “writing into the dark” got lost. Still, I hope to do just that in 2017 once I complete the Tracker series.

So, to plan for 2017 on my Yearly Planner.

First, I will add the 2017 list of awards for different genres onto my Yearly Planner.

Then tentatively add a February publish date for Mage. I normally take January off to watch Australian tennis. But this year, I will create the cover and blurb for Mage and make any editing changes needed, before formatting for the different distributor sites.

Then in February start the fifth in the Tracker series. I hope to have that written and published by end of March, but as with all my plans, I will allow three months to complete.

As soon as I complete the fifth Tracker story, I want to take a month, hopefully May, to write a story a day, Monday to Friday, whether Flash, Short, or longer, and see what happens. I should end up with 1 or more, up to 20 flash fiction stories that I could publish as is, or expand any of them into novels.

I will tell my muse that each story can be any genre, but plan on a only writing 500 – 1000 words to tell the story.

That should be fun.

In the second half of 2017 I will either follow up on one or more of the short stories if I think they would make a good novel or series, or just plot and write a new story.

I will also take some time to market the Tracker series as soon as the fifth is published.

Other than that, I will take each month as it comes, hoping my health remains good, and life issues remain few and far between.

So, how did your 2016 Indie Publishing year go?

Did you succeed in all your projects, any of your projects, or none of your projects?

What are your plans for 2017? Write a novel, a short story, or a whole series of novels?

Whatever your plans are, I want to take the time to wish you all good luck, good health, and happy new year.

I look forward to seeing you all in 2017.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

