Interesting Spam Emails

I am totally enjoying my month of tennis and relaxing rather than writing, even if the temperature reached 105.6 degrees Fahrenheit for a few days.

I decided not to read a chapter or two of my current edited story aloud this morning looking for the last of the typos, incorrect words, or other errors, so, thought I would check my publishing emails instead.

As usual, nothing interesting in the Inbox.

But the Spam was interesting.

A radio station in London emailed me about putting Tift Publishing books on their book page to get more readers.

I did not click the link via the email. Instead, I copied and pasted into a new browser window and looked at the site. Figured out how to stop their music, then searched for info on placing my eBook covers on their site.

Found it. Too many English Pounds required for me to be interested in advertising with them.

And no information as to how many readers actually read their book page site or click through to purchase ebooks.

Deleted it!

One interesting email, repeated every three days, was from Twitter, just reminding me I am supposed to log into Twitter every day or they will keep sending email reminders.

Deleted them!

Another spam email that stood out was advising me that one of my stories was too expensive for them to purchase since it only had 150 pages.

First, the actual story laid out in a 5” x 8” print book is 182 pages. If I take off the 7 blank left pages at chapter start that leaves 175 story pages.

This does not included the 6 pages at the start including copyright page and title pages, and end pages listing all the other print books by the same author and the author bio with links to get in touch, and sample pages of another story.

This got me thinking.

Amazon decreasing the number of pages for each book on the eBook page is actually being believed by readers.

Also, the continuous suggestions that most eBooks sell for FREE or $0.99 or $2.99 is also believed by readers.

Back to the email that could have been from a potential reader, or not, because the return email address started with blast@ and a long list of numbers that made no sense to me.

If a potential reader sends you an email about not affording one of your stories, what would you do?

Ignore it?

Lower the price of the book?

Advise the reader they could borrow the story from their local library for free?

Or, as I would have done if the return email address was genuine, send them a free copy?

I am now off to do some more study of Author Earnings latest report.

Hope you all looked at the results for 2016 and the differences between Indie, Amazon Imprint and Traditional publishing average prices.

Interesting times for Indies.

Keep writing and having fun.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

